Inside My Mind: I’m a little NeoWiccan- The Many Flavours of Wicca

Posted: January 8, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

This article came to me after doing a little bit of my own research. I know I follow Wicca for my religion, but never did I know I fell under a category/type. Really, I should have. Look at Christianity having many certain sub-groups such as Anglican, Catholic, Baptist,etc. Same as with Wicca. Recently I have found out that I am part of the NeoWiccans, and that I am an Eclectic Wiccan. 

What is NeoWicca? Well here are the differences between the old movement and the new movement.

 

 

NeoWicca/Spirituality is:

•Substance instead of Form

•Personal Experiences vs Dogma

•Heart felt, soul-led, creative expression vs Scripts and Rote rcitation

•Sharing power equally vs High Priest/ess or Hierarchical

•Inner Authority and personal Authenticity vs Outer authority making rules

•Self Dedication instead of initiation to become part of a group/coven

•Open vs being secretive about oneself

 

(Many thanks to http://www.wicca-spirituality.com for making such amazing informative articles on such topics.)

 

___

Here are some other kinds of Wiccans:

•Gardnerian

•Alexandrian 

•Seax 

•Dianic

•Blue Star WitchCraft

•Georgian

•British Traditional

•Celtic

plus many others!

 

A lot of times people wonder how they find out what they fall under. For me, this took 5 years- go figure. Sometimes you will find out after research that you fall under one or maybe even multiple types. 

A note for those who are NeoWiccan like myself: Don’t take the term “NeoWiccan” as an insulting term. You are still part of the Wiccan religion- you just study under a newer method. In the end, we are all witches/ Wiccan. 

Blessed be )O( 

Leave a Reply

