Inside My Mind: Coming Out of the Broom Closet- Some Ways to Help Those who are New to Wicca

Posted: January 8, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

After recently coming out of the broom closet myself after 5 years, I had to come across quite the challenge of the reactions of those around me.

Sometimes you will come across others in your life who will openly accept you for you when you come out as Wiccan, then there will also be the ones who are ignorant towards the matter. 

Luckily, My family I live with accepted me right away. My boyfriend accepted me. My best friends accepted me. Everyone pretty much did except for the die-hard bible pushers around me and two in the family.

Did it hurt to have someone in your family look at you as if you were less than them and their religious beliefs and think it was ‘just a phase’ and ‘oh, you’re not one of them are you?’ Yep it did. Quite a lot, actually. And you know what, too? Yes. Yes I am one of them. I am a natural ‘witch’ who uses my gifts and knowledge in natural healing to help those around me. I’m a good person. I respect others who are different than me and still love them unconditionally. Their belief doesn’t make them any more or any less of a person.

I was also told by said family member that my grandmother who passed away (Blessed be your soul Nanny E, I miss you with all my heart xx ) would not approve of me because apparently she contacted my other grandmother and said so. NO. My Nan loved me for me. She supported me and was there for me when no one else would. She never judged me when I came to her and told her what I saw. From the start she could see that I did have gifts of the sixth sense but still loved me and never judged me. Yes, she was Catholic, but she had respect for me when I was first into Wicca. She helped me and got me different books. She loved me for me. I can sense her energy and I even have consulted other mediums if she is proud of who I’ve become and they all say that she is and that I’m forming fine. THAT is what matters to me. 

Instead of yelling and lowering my maturity level down to bashing her religion, I instead gave some links of information to my family member and calmly explained what Wicca is. I know in my heart I am not evil. Sadly, some of the things  I see her church people do completely appall me. How can you go into a place and wear fake smiles with fake attitudes towards your fellow ‘friends’ then go back home with your little ‘clique’ and then talk smack about them? THAT is NOT family.  Respect and love each other. 

For those of you who have came out of the broom closet or are about to, here are some helpful links I found that I like to use to give to people who aren’t too nice or judgemental towards you.

Blessed be and don’t let them put out your shine. Glow, baby, glow.

 

Helpful Links:

 

Leave a Reply

